top of page
DSC_1817.JPG

DISCOVER THOSE WHO GLOW

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Search
  • susannahouthier

The Story Behind the Video

Going into this process, the longest video that I had ever published was only five minutes long. When it came time to export "Those Who Glow," I was certain that my laptop was going to burst into flames, and I prayed without ceasing for forty minutes until my laptop's fan stopped running. It was only by the grace of God that the file downloaded.

That moment was reflective of the entire process. I was, as they say, "Livin' on a Prayer," as I blindly jumped into the world of short-form documentaries. I winged it through my question formation, long interviews, b-roll collection, and an (almost) popped tire. At every step of the process, I had do learn through research and through trial and error.

It sounds strange to say that this video is not my proudest piece of work. The audio is sloppy (lawnmowers anyone???), only a bit of my b-roll complimented my interviews, etc. I learned many difficult lessons while editing as I tried to piece together the workable pieces into a logical order, but they are lessons that I will apply to future projects. I don not know what my next subject will be, but I know that my next video will (hopefully) be of a higher caliber.

Above all, the most important lesson that I learned is the value of the audience. Thankfully, Oak Ridge was a perfect subject for a young documentarian. I had a free place to stay (thank you Neal and Pat), a short distance to travel (thanks Waze), and the most interesting and understanding interviewees. The citizens of Oak Ridge are passionate about their history, and the community that opened their doors to me to tell their story were the first ones to watch and share my video. These people are passionate about their history, and I am thankful that they allowed me to document just a small part of it.

Overall, I am so grateful for this experience and am excited to have my first documentary under my belt. My time in Oak Ridge is something that I will always cherish.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Story

Oak Ridge was a secret city built out of nothing during WWII to assemble the atomic bomb that ended the war. During its time of operation and slightly after, it was highly regulated by the government

bottom of page